Leslie Feinberg Materials

Hello All,

As promised, here are some links to materials on Leslie Feinberg, including the entire video of which we watched a portion in class on Monday.

I noted that Feinberg’s semi-autobiographical novel Stone Butch Blues (an excerpt from which we are reading) is out of print, often stolen from libraries, and not exactly cheap when you can find it for sale!  Click the image of Feinberg below to buy the used book on Amazon.  (Note that the prices start at $30 and go up to $500!)

The “follow-up” to Stone Butch Blues is Drag King Dreams, which is much easier to find and less expensive.  Click the image below to buy it on Amazon for about $12.

Click the image below for Feinberg’s official website, which I pulled up in class the other night.

The entire video of Feinberg speaking in Buffalo in 2006, of which we watched a part in class on Monday, is below.  As I said in class on Monday, I am SO sorry we didn’t have enough time to watch the whole thing, and I definitely recommend that you all do so when you can!  Feinberg had some very profound and thoughtful things to say about Queer identity, bigotry, discrimination, and class struggle, which may feel as relevant in 2017 as they were in 2006.

Finally, remember that I mentioned that one of my colleagues in the English department was friends with Feinberg and allied with them in activism focused on workers’ rights.  A few years ago this colleague, after learning that I had started teaching Stone Butch Blues, encouraged me to get in touch with Feinberg.  I REALLY regret that I didn’t do so before Feinberg tragically died in in the winter of 2014.

If any of you are interested in writing about Feinberg for your midterm and/or final research paper and would like to talk to my colleague about his history with Feinberg, please let me know and I’ll try to put you in touch with him.

Best,

Prof. Jaime Weida

🙂

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

